Moskus Oslo


Oslo, Norway

Band Members


  • Anja Lauvdal - Piano
  • Fredrik Luhr Dietrichson - Bass
  • Hans Hulbækmo - Drums


'Moskus sound like Norway's latest young cult-status candidates (…) while they recall the chamber-jazz sound of Tord Gustavsen in their casually scattered piano motifs, pulsing bass-lines and softly tramping drums, they also draw on rich idiomatic resources of their own.' - The Guardian - John Fordham (UK)


Norwegian piano trio Moskus grew from the creative milieu in the Jazz Department of the Trondheim Conservatory of Music, recently slipping into position as young cult-status candidates. Their musical roots are planted in the fertile earth of chamber jazz, but this democratic trio’s influences have been nourished by everything from religious hymns to avant garde cinema to European free improvised music. Pianist Anja Lauvdal in the company of bassist Fredrik Luhr Dietrichson and drummer Hans Hulbækmo were chosen by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for the "Norwegian Jazz Launch 2014”,  while their second album "Mestertyven" was listed as one of the 50 best jazz records ever to come out of Norway. High praise indeed, and it highlights Moskus as one of the most exciting bands on the Norwegian jazz scene. Moskus are very assuredly now in the same orbit as other experimental piano trios such as The Bad Plus, The Necks and E.S.T.





  • Mestertyven (2014)
  • Salmesykkel (2012)

» return to 12 Points artists