Light Airborne Copenhagen

Light Airborne

Copenhagen, Denmark


  • 12 Points Festival 2007

Band Members


  • Niels Lokkegaard - Saxophone, Flute
  • Christoffer Muller - Piano, Rhodes
  • Morten Lund - Drums
  • Jeppe Kjellberg - Guitar
  • Lars Jenset - Bass


12 Points! is a European festival, but Manhattan still exerts a gravitational pull on many of our artists, including Denmark’s fine saxophonist/flautist Niels Loekkegaard, who’s intermittently based there. A graduate of Copenhagen’s Rhythmic Music Conservatory, he’s a mainstay of several Danish large groups, and is lead alto with The Kluvers Big Band, in addition to a plethora of groups under his own leadership. He flies to Dublin from the US to convene Light Airborne, featuring Christoffer Muller (Rhodes, piano) Morten Lund (drums) Lars Jenset (bass) and Jeppe Kjellberg (guitar). Collectively, they’re the vehicle for his yearning, harmonically deft compositions that often give way to an open landscape for improvisation with a plaintive Nordic characteristic.


  • Vesper (2012)
  • The Scale of Grey, the Tone of Black (2010)
  • Light Airborne (2007)

» return to 12 Points artists